Top 5: Favorite Disney Movies

So before starting on my blog today I was facebooking.  A friend of mine posted about new movies being added to Netflix on demand and Disney‘s Tron: Legacy is one of the latest added!  Now I had planned earlier in the day what I would blog about today but for the life of me I can’t remember.  Now all I can think about is watching Tron!  So today’s blog will stick with a movie theme since I can’t get them out of my head.

“Hello!  My Name is Dani and I’m a Disney Junkie.”

For starters let me just say I am a kids movie addict. Disney is obviously a major player in that area… though I’m quickly stacking up a collection of DreamWorks movies as well.  They always have a happy ending.  There is always a moral learned at the end.  Some of them are tear-jerkers.  I’m a girl sometimes you just need a good cry right?– Speaking of Tear Jerkers have you seen UP! I cried the whole way through!!!  The point is kids movies rarely disappoint and are always my go to movie.  So here are my top 5 Disney movies.

5. Wall E

This was the first movie my boyfriend and I went and watched together.  He drove all the way to West Texas to come visit me during our first summer apart.  It was such a precious movie and that’s the weekend I decided to accept the fact that I was not just in like anymore.  Another reason I LOVE this movie is the message of taking care of the earth while we can because it’s our home.  Go Green!

4. Pirates of the Caribbean (all)

Pirates of the Caribbean… if you’ve heard the film’s score there is really no need for further explanation.  Every once in a while a movie comes along with the most wonderful score.  No matter how silly the film might be the score makes it stick in your head.  The Pirates of the Caribbean is that movie for me.  As part of my high school band we played it during concert season and won several awards.  It was amazing getting to play such a great piece of music.  Also does anyone NOT love Johnny Depp?

3. Peter Pan

My parents remember Peter Pan as the movie I asked to watch over and over again.  To this day my dad still sings “Following the Leader.”  My favorite part of the movie was when they learned how to fly.  As a child this movie is about imagination and the wonders of being young.  But It also resonates with viewers as they grow older, those who miss their childhood or it at least helps them recall it fondly.  That’s what’s wonderful about so many Disney movies.  Though they’re created with the child in mind it takes into account the parent that will be watching the film with them.

2. The Little Mermaid

This movie is such a tear jerker but it’s also very funny.  As a kid I liked to pretend to brush my hair with a dingle-hopper and would amuse my parents by singing like Scuttle… and if you don’t know what this means then you’ve never watched it have you?  The part that always gets to me is the part at the end where Ariel says goodbye to her daddy.  Just thinking about it now makes me tear up a bit.  Shout out to my Daddy – Love you Popsicle!

1.  Fantasia  

As a kid I was fascinated by this movie.  I would sit in front of the TV absolutely transfixed by the wonderful colors and the way the music and pictures combined.  It was like taking a peek into someone’s imagination as they listened to classical music.— Doesn’t everyone day-dream about dancing flowers when listening to Tchaikovsky, Beethoven, Mozart???  More than any other movie Fantasia effected my creativity and my ability to dream.  I remember once in elementary I colored a sheep sea green and was quickly reprimanded because sheep aren’t green — speaking of which sheep are either white or black GREAT coloring assignment, Teach!  Though I didn’t say it aloud, I thought to myself flowers and mushrooms don’t dance but they look pretty doing it.  So though sheep aren’t sea green they sure would look pretty if they were.  That’s off on a tangent but Fantasia is just a wonderful movie that really encourages a child’s imagination to run wild.

Share your top 5 Disney Films and comments!!!

One thought on “Top 5: Favorite Disney Movies

  1. As someone who grew up before all the big-time graphics came masqueraded before our eyes I was still just as fascinated with the classics. Cinderella and her moment when the clock strikes midnight, Sleeping Beauty when she bites the forbidden apple, Lady and the Tramp sharing a spaghetti noodle. That is where I believe I fell in love with dogs, yes in the animated world because it certainly was not the neighbor’s huge sheepdog Goliath who would come bounding down the road each morning to greet me for kindergarten knock me down and kiss me all over. Poor dog was just being friendly but I was so small and he was so BIG. So yes, I love Disney films and probably the classics the most. I’ve found a great way to get them fast and on the go too since I travel for business and we all need a happy ending once in a while. When talking with a colleague of mine that who also works for Dish Network about the October 1st launch of Dish Network’s new package The Blockbuster Movie Pass I was thrilled. As this is just another way, they are making my life easier and more fun. Welcome live streaming! I was thrilled to know that thousands of TV and movies could now stream to my laptop making life even more fulfilling for movie lovers. It seems like they are always coming up with fantastic ideas especially for individuals like me who are so passionate about film and are always looking for old and new titles to take me on an adventure. The Blockbuster Movie Pass will now be a combination of two of DISH Network’s prestigious packages the DISH Platinum and the Blockbuster by Mail package allowing me to stream thousands of movies with my laptop or my Dish receiver. How fantastic! I also now have access to thousands of DVD movies, TV shows and games by mail with unlimited exchange necessary for the movie buff I most certainly am. It remotely streams directly to my laptop or TV expanding my film intake by a huge amount, $10 seems a small price to pay to be exploding with art. Lying back on my couch with my cat and an enlightening film has always been the ultimate relaxation for me.

Give me some feedback!

