Cooking Problem’s

20111026-153928.jpg

Hey everyone, so the weather is turning chillier (is that a word?) and I’m loving it! Today I made one of my favorite cold weather foods fidello. It’s a Hispanic type food so the double l is pronounced as a y.

Fidello is in between a stew and a pasta. It’s very simple, cheap and quick to make. It has ground meat, I always use hamburger but ground turkey could easily be substituted. It also has vermicelli, tomato sauce, chicken broth and can contain potatoes and or beans. Mine always has potatoes, nothing says hearty like a bowl full of meat n’ taters.

The only problem I have with cooking fidello is it’s NOT a single person household type meal. I’m not one of those people who detests left overs but I do hate eating the same thing for every meal. Right now it looks like that will be the case for the rest of the week.

I am used to cooking for larger groups. At least 2 people. Now that it’s just me the adjustments have been hard. And I find myself wasting too much! If you have any tips for how to cook smaller portions I’d love to hear them!

2 thoughts on “Cooking Problem’s

    • Thanks for the advice. My problem is, I never use a recipe. That’s how my mom and grandma taught me to cook. Now, I’m left trying to figure out how to “eyeball” all my proportions before throwing them into the pot or pan.

Give me some feedback!

