Guess Who’s Back & With a Seasonal Recipe

¡Hola Amigos!

I’ve been out for 2 weeks!!! But I’m finally feeling much better.  Every time I thought of blogging last week, I thought of the Eminem Song above.  I know a little scandalous but to be fair I could only remember the intro part.

So it’s Thanksgiving week!!! I get to see my family tomorrow!!! I’m very excited and because I can’t think of anything other than Thanksgiving I’ve been cooking and baking up a storm even before they get here.  It’s something about this holiday that forces you to cook and eat.  In light of this wave of zombie eating and cooking I’m sharing a recipe today.

 Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

So here’s the sitch: I’m a terrible baker.  I can cook fine because I’m not afraid to add a little of this and a little of that.  Baking is very different because things must be measured and added in a scientific way and I’m NOT a science-y person.  However, yesterday I decided to go out on a limb and tried concocting something.

I had about a half cup of leftover pumpkin puree from a previous recipe that needed to be used.  I picked up a packet of Betty Crocker Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix on the way home.  The mix calls for 1 stick of butter and 1 egg.  I modified the recipe by adding half a stick of butter, one egg and the half cup of pumpkin puree.  It looked a little runny so I added a tablespoon of brown sugar and added tiny amounts of all purpose flour until it was the consistency of a cookie.  This packet made 2 dozen large round cookies.  As you can tell by my directions, it’s almost impossible not to give into habbit – I still did the little bit of this / that thing.

The cookies were marvelous!!! I want to add pumpkin puree to everything!  It made the cookies so fluffy light and moist.  Usually cookies get a little dry and flat after being out of the oven for a while but I ate one this evening and it’s still as perfect as before.  Definitely my new favorite recipe!!!  Simple and tasty.

I’ll be back tomorrow with more Thanksgiving love!!!

Give me some feedback!

