I’m reading leave me alone…

While most people would consider a book a rather less than exciting present, I do not.  I got a trilogy of books for my birthday… of course the gift was given EXACTLY a month late but I won’t call out the late gift giver -cough cough Richard.

But before I tell you what the series is let me tell you about the amazingly sweet presentation and delivery which makes up for it being late.

I was given a box that was abnormally heavy.  I was sure he had put something inside to throw my guesses off.  I was betting it was a phone case he constantly complains that I need a proper phone case. I opened up the box to find this.

It’s a brick in a box… which kinda rhymes with the song… if you don’t know what I’m talking about then it doesn’t matter.  I turned it over to find this.

After I make out the scribbled handwriting, I realize what it is.  As I turn around Excitedly, he pulls these out from his hiding spot and gives them to me.

I’ve already finished the first one and am about halfway done with the second.  I know I won’t be productive until I’m done reading so I am going to read through them as fast as possible. Then I usually re-read just to make sure I didn’t miss anything.  Sometimes rather than read an entire paragraph I get the “flavor” of it then move on.

Also before you judge my book choice let me just say I read to escape.  I love the classic romance novels like Jane Austen and Emily Bronte but I also love Harry Potter and… kind of secretly… The Twilight Series.

So far I’m completely enthralled in the Hunger Game series.  So I’d say it’s a successful gift and extra points for creative delivery.  Books are always a safe gift choice with me. Something about being immersed in an imaginary world for hours makes it more difficult to focus on reality once you put the book down.  And for a few minutes which world is which seems difficult to distinguish.

Give me some feedback!

