Bonnaroo on the Brain!

I have been obsessing about Bonnaroo all day!  Once I get this obsessive about something it’s really hard to focus on anything else, so I’m just going to give in and obsess about it in my blog.  This year’s lineup came out yesterday!!! Hooty HOOOOO!!!

Via Bonnaroo.com Click the Image to Enlarge.

I love that there’s a channel on Spotify so I can continue to be obsessive until June 7.  I’m going to let you in on a little secret.  You might think I’m being a little exaggerative when I say obsessive but I’m not.  I’ve had people tell me my tendency to obsess over things is a beneficial idiosyncrasy that will help me be a better journalist… but I think it mostly makes me weird.  (It’s okay we’re all a little weird.)  So here’s a little look into what I mean by obsessive: Wikipedia-ing, Google-ing (when did those two become verbs?), Listening to a bands music daily, talking about it on the reg’ with anyone and everyone.  My latest obsession will take over Facebook, Pinterest, Blog, Twitter, Instagram etc.  I recognize it’s probably unhealthy to get that obsessed with something but, on the other hand, I am a treasure mind of random trivia.  Anyway, I apologize in advance for this characteristic and I will do my best to reign it in when blogging.

Back to the issues, I am definitely adventurous when it comes to music, but that doesn’t mean that I know even half of the artists featured on the list.  So I am making a concerted effort to really get familiar with this year’s lineup so I don’t end up missing someone and regretting it.  Last year, I missed Mumford & Sons and I’ve recently become obsessed with them so I’m pretty sad I didn’t get to see them.  This year I’m excited about Radiohead, The Beach Boys, The Shins, Foster the People, The Kooks, Bon Iver, Feist, Aziz Ansari, Ludacris, Skrillex, The Civil Wars, Major Lazer, Two Door Cinema and Ben Folds Five.  If there’s anyone else on the list that you think I need to obsess over, please just let me know!

I love music festivals.  My first real “concert” was actually Austin City Limits.  It was amazing!  Ever since then, I decided music festivals are definitely the way to go.  It’s the biggest bang for your buck.  While Bonnaroo tickets are a bit pricey, they’re totally worth it considering how many artists you get to see.  I also just love large scale events because of the shared experience factor.  I don’t know if that’s an actual term, but I love the idea that everyone came together to enjoy this event and you all have something in common.  I love when the crowd reacts altogether.  It’s just makes the experience so much more fun!

Anyways I’ve also been daydreaming about my wardrobe for this year’s festival.  Last year was my first time to attend so I wasn’t prepared for how hot Tennessee is in the middle of the summer.  It was miserably hot, dusty, muddy, and smelly.  The conditions made it difficult to look cute but some people pulled it off and I’m determined to be one of them next year.  I’m not all about the looks but it’s just nice to be prepared and I’m planning WAAAY in advance.  My style usually leans towards preppy vintage style but I also appreciate the bohemian look.  So what better place is there to experiment with that style than at Bonnaroo?  So I’ll wrap up this blog post with some of my favorite looks from year’s past.

Via Still the Lovely Blog. Click Image to visit blog.

Face Paint. Check. Minimum Cloth. Check.  Flowers. Check. Cute Sunglasses. Check.  I love how eclectic all their looks are and they are definitely cool enough to beat the heat.

Via Style.com Click image to visit site.

This is Grace Potter and Catherine Popper from Grace Potter and the Nocturnals.  I love the flowery feminine looks.  They’re nice and weather and event appropriate but still super cute and classy.

Via Style.com Click image to visit site.

She looks like she stepped straight out of Almost Famous.  Isn’t that ultimate concert chic?

Via the Fashion Spot. Click image to visit site.

Love the worn boots.  Definitley necessary unless you want to not recognize your own feet that evening.

Give me some feedback!

