Weekend Recipes

I love cooking, A LOT, but I don’t often do it because with no one else in the house, food lasts a while.  So every time Richard comes to visit I plan a full menu because, although he’s only one person, he sure can eat.  Here are a few of the things I whipped up.

1. Chipotle Rubbed Salmon Tacos

Fish tacos are one of Richard’s favorites.  It mixes two things he loves, fish and mexican food.  This recipe calls for a lemony mayo sauce.  I was a little wary of it because I’m not a huge fan of mayonnaise but it turned out pretty good.  I mixed the sauce in the same dish as the chipotle rub so it also added a bit of spicy flavor to the sauce.

Funny story: When we first met he assumed I didn’t like fish because he though all girls disliked seafood since both his mom and sister adamantly hate it.  To his relief he found out I love fish and seafood.

Click to See the Recipe at FoodandWine.com

2. Chili Spiced Skirt Steak Tacos

Usually when I buy things like tortillas that come in large quantities, I make sure that my menu includes other recipes that call for them so I can get rid of them before they go bad.  So we stuck with the mexican food theme and make steak tacos.  This recipe called for skirt steak but we couldn’t find any so we used thin cut sirloin.  I’m sure the skirt steak would’ve been even better but these were really good.  How good?  Well, while at work today I found myself looking forward to leftovers this evening.  The meat cooked up quickly which was good because we were starving.  Also I normally avoid cooking meat because the smell disgusts me but the spices in the rub helped mask that cooking meat smell and instead smelled earthy spicy and a little smokey.

Click for Recipe at Delish.com

3. Biscuits & Gravy

Another one of Richard’s favorites.  I don’t think I’d ever had homemade (or semi-homemade) biscuits and gravy before I made them for Richard.  I think I made them for the first time because he was stressing over a test and as usual was stress eating anything in site so I decided to make him something he’d like.  I usually just buy Pillsbury buttermilk biscuits, McCormick’s white gravy mix and Jimmy Dean‘s Country Mild Sausage.  I usually cook the sausage and the gravy in the same pot, I think it helps add more flavor.  Not the lightest meal but it is delicious and always a hit.

If you have any menu suggestions please share them in the comments section.  Also don’t you think my foodtography is improving just a little?  I do.  It still has a way to go but I working on it.  Plus it can only get so good when using an iPhone and not a camera.

Give me some feedback!

