P.S. I Love You

I have an affinity for writing letters! I love checking the mail box and finding that I have more than magazines and junk mail.  I think, due to faster forms of communication like texting and email the art of letter writing has been lost.  I can’t say I write many letters with regularity, but I’ve decided to pick it up again.  I find I do my best communicating when I actually write it out.  This may sound silly but any time I’m truly happy, I write a note so I can fully express myself and remember how I feel in that moment.  Any time Richard and I have a disagreement he’s great at communicating his point of view in a discussion while I usually ask him to give me some time alone so I can write it out then present my argument later.  Letters really make you think about what you want to say and how you want to say it, unlike text messages which are often misspelled and/or don’t make sense.

I had never really written letters much until a couple years ago when I spent the summer in Atlanta Georgia for an internship.  I missed Richard so much but often our schedules just didn’t sync up long enough for us to say everything we needed and wanted to say on the phone.  So we got to writing.  I’d like to think that sometime down the road our grandchildren or at least grand-nieces and nephews will read those letters and think, “Wow, they really loved each other.”  I still have all the letters tucked away in my memory box.  We still live some distance apart.  Though it’s not as far as Atlanta, it is proving difficult on our communication.  So I’m insisting we start writing letters again.  (And any family reading this post, don’t be surprised if you find one in your mailbox also.)

Not only is the written portion of the letter important but I also think letters should be beautiful.  I like to doodle on mine and really make each one unique looking.  Here’s one I’m working on now.  I had some scrap paper that I’d drawn on so I painted over it, let it dry and started drawing some sort of flower pattern on it.  I’m not sure who I’ll send this one too yet.

Here are a few creative letter writing ideas that I plan on trying in the near future.

1. Personalize Envelopes

Via Top It.Me

I love the idea of taking regular envelopes and making them unique and interesting looking.  Now this blog didn’t necessarily say these envelopes were personalized or just adorable upon purchase.  Either way, I’d never really personalized the envelopes just the insides so I’ll be trying that.

2. Junk Magazines to Envelopes

Via Every Nothing Wonderful Blog. Click the pic for the DIY instructions.

I have a lovely stack of old magazines just waiting for me to do something with them, perfect for this craft project.

3. Sewn Letter

Via Grazing Goat blog. Click pic for DIY instructions.

I usually try to stray away from any type of sewing in general but since I’m determined to become an adept seamstress I will be trying this project.  And doesn’t that letter look so unique!

4. Stamp Art

Via Approachable Art Blog. Click pic for DIY instructions.

I actually saw this on Pinterest this afternoon and thought the stamp making techniques were really interesting.  I’m always looking for cool new prints and these would all be so cool and unique, perfect for decorating a letter!

5. Letter & Small Gift

Via Giverslog. Click pic for DIY instructions.

I love the idea of packaging simple and small gifts in recyclable containers.  This blog has lots of ideas for small gifts and interesting packaging, I’d definitely recommend you click the picture above to check out the blog!

2 thoughts on “P.S. I Love You

  1. Eep ! I was really excited to see this! I blog about ‘snail mail’ and letter writing often. A few years ago I just realised that I LOVE letters and I have been trying to revive them, too.
    I always need to write down arguments too… for someone who wants to be a writer I can never think what to say! And I love some of those creative ideas!
    I’m looking for a far away pen pal or two at the moment. So far I just write to my Granny, my Auntie and my friends who live 2 hours away during the week, and close at the weekend 🙂
    LOVED this post 🙂 Kindred spirit!

    • I really only write to my boyfriend but I’m definitely planning on extending my mailing list. Thanks for the comment and please let me know if you try any of the ideas out.

Give me some feedback!

