Recipe: Slow Cooked Chicken Tacos

So I made this recipe once before I decided to photograph it for the blog.  The second time around I no longer had a slow cooker because Richard someone had broken it.  I thought it was best the first time around, the flavors seemed to really have soaked into the chicken.  So if you have a crockpot I highly suggest using it but it works in the oven too if you set the temperature low.  So first spray the dish you’re using with a little bit of Pam or whatever else you might want to use. Then collect your ingredients.

Ingredients:

  • Chili Powder
  • Garlic Salt,
  • 2 Can of Rotel
  • 2 Chicken Breasts.

I also added a bit of water so that it creates a little more steam and cooks the chicken thoroughly.  Season your chicken on both sides then, before putting them in the crockpot pour some of the Rotel on the bottom of the pot then place the chicken on top of them and pour the rest of the Rotel on them.

***If you don’t have Rotel but have a chunky salsa you could use that or if you don’t like spicy foods just use a can of diced tomatoes.

Let it cook for 7 to 8 hours and that’s about it.  I know this is like a really ridiculously simple recipe but I had a lot of people ask me how I made them.  I made them using the smaller flour fajita tortillas and left them on the stove long enough to where they got toasted and a little crunchy.  Then finish them off with your favorite taco toppings.

We paired ours with Mexican Style Corn.  I’m going to list the ingredients and you may think it sounds gross but don’t knock it until you try it.  This type of corn is sold from small carts on the streets in Mexico.  You can eat it on the cob or just the kernels.  Most of this is to taste so the measurements are rough you can do more or less than I listed below.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Corn
  • 1 teaspoon Butter
  • 1 Tablespoon Mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon Lemon Juice
  • Chili Powder to taste
  • Salt to taste

Instructions:

If you’re eating it off the cob then rub lemon on it first, then butter, then mayonnaise and lastly add the chili powder and salt to taste.  If it’s in a bowl or cup just add ingredients as you like and mix well.  Hope you enjoy your Tex-Mex dinner.

Give me some feedback!

