DIY: Love Birds Coasters

Summer is known as wedding season.  Maybe the warm weather has everyone twitter-pated (yes, that was a Bambi reference).  Whatever the case, I’ve attended a few weddings this summer and while sticking to the gift registry is a sure-fire way to choose a present that pleases, I always like to add my own personal touch too.  Here’s one inexpensive DIY you can add to any gift box, bag or basket.  This way you can save the big bucks for the registry approved items but still let the happy couple know their crafty friend sends them some homemade love.

Supplies

  • Tiles
  • Newspaper
  • Paint (I used black and white)
  • Paint Brushes
  • Modge Podge
  • Felt
  • Pencil
  • Scissors
Instructions
First you trace the tile onto your newspaper.  I chose an area that had no headlines or images so the background wouldn’t be too distracting.  After cutting the squares of paper out I decoupaged them to the tile.  Once a little dry, I watered down some white acrylic paint and put a layer over the newspaper so the words would be a little faded out.
Now to the love birds.  As the tiles dried, I prepped my image stencil.  I free-handed a couple of love birds onto some stiff paper, using an online picture as my model.  Then cut out the shape and traced them.  This way I can keep all the birds approximately the same.  I filled in the outline with black paint and added the tree and limbs (I did embellish a little on the last part so they’re all unique).  Once all is dry, add another layer of modge podge to seal it all.
 
I tried to center the birds closer to the bottom of the tile so eventually I can write someone’s new last name centered at the top of the tile.  Also, I know I only show 4 coasters but I actually did a set of 8.  If you’re going to entertain guests, chances are there will be more than 4 of you.  I think these along with a set of glasses or mugs that are on your love birds registry would make a great gift! What do you think?
Give me some feedback!

