DIY: Wedding Date Announcement

Like I mentioned yesterday, our families all came together this weekend to celebrate our engagement. We had the party fiesta at a Tex-Mex restaurant called Chimi’s. It was pretty good but I still think Oklahoma has NOTHING on the Lone Star State’s Mexican cuisine. The restaurant had a separate room for us which was nice because we could shut the door and it ended up feeling intimate.  There were quite a few DIY’s that I had planned but didn’t really get to most of them because the to-do list was just too long and I underestimated how long some of the tasks would take.  The wedding date announcement was one of those sorely underestimated tasks.  I’m not sure why I thought it would be quick and simple — simple kind of, quick most definitely not!  But I am glad that I pushed through and didn’t leave it by the wayside to focus on other tasks.

cake & picture frame

I found the large picture frame at the Tulsa Flea Market.  I do my best to make it to the flea market every Saturday that it’s open in various buildings at Expo Square.  It was $28 which was a little pricey, I thought, for an empty frame that was brown and gold.  But I really liked the detailing around the edges and the size so it had to be mine.  I also forgot to take a picture of the frame all by itself before I cleaned it up, so use your imagination.

IMG_4650 IMG_4652

I brought it home then wiped it down and realized a lot of that brown was just dust.  After cleaning it and letting it dry a bit I started spraying multiple coats of Pistachio Krylon spray paint.  This project took the whole can.  I also spray painted some mini-clothespins gold.  I have had these clothespins sitting in my craft box for about 6 or 7 years.  I don’t recall the project I had purchased them for originally but it’s nice to have finally used them!  After the picture frame finished drying I roughed it up a bit with a scrap of sand paper, just enough to see the gold underneath.  I wiped down the frame to get all the dust off and then I sprayed it and the clips with a clear glossy coat.

IMG_4655

IMG_4657

In between coats, I worked on putting together my message.  I printed out large letters that would make up the words.  I could only fit two letters on one sheet of paper.  I used carbon paper to trace the letters onto my pretty green card stock.  This is the part that took longer than expected.  Choosing a font, sizing each letter, situating it just right on the document,  printing, tracing and carefully cutting out took ages!  I attached the letters using the now gold clips to wire that I strung across the frame.  I used green floral wire because it matched our theme and said it was easy to cut… not true considering it “unrolled” in one tangled mess.

IMG_4675 IMG_4676

I’m really pleased with how the sign turned out!  As you can see, we’re planning for a May 24 wedding however that may be changing in the near future.  No matter which date is eventually settled upon, I plan on using this frame later on but instead of a message it will likely hold photos.

One thought on “DIY: Wedding Date Announcement

  1. Pingback: Thankful for a Routine | Goose Roost

Give me some feedback!

