Guest Book Ideas

There are many decisions that have yet to be made but I’m thinking the guest book is definitely one of the things we’re sure about.  The guest book is something that every wedding has and it’s a great opportunity to get creative.  Too often guest books are the same old same old but a quick peek on Pinterest shows many people are stepping away from traditional.

A Beautiful Mess

Via A Beautiful Mess

One of my favorite blogs, A Beautiful Mess, featured an out of the box guest book idea.  One of the blog writers, Emma, recently got married and of course her wedding was filled with a wonderful DIY spirit and unique ideas, like the guest book.  Though it’s not my cup of tea I really appreciate the creativity here.  Plus, Emma is using her “book” as an art piece in her new home.  What a great daily reminder of the beginning of your life together.

Via Dani Stephenson Photography

Via Dani Stephenson Photography

Another art piece I found fell in love with on Pinterest was featured at a Minnesota wedding.  The tree design alone would be a great piece but it means so much more with all of your loved ones names on it!

balloon finger prints

Similar piece by Peachwik on Etsy. Click to check out the shop.

I’ll mention just one more art piece, finger print guest books.  Now, I’m not so sure if I’m crazy about this or if I dislike it.  Who wants to dip their finger in an ink pad when their dressed in their nicest attire?  I know not everyone is as clutzy as me and therefore it isn’t absolutely certain that they will wind up covered in ink but, if it was me, I’d end the night with an ink mustache and lots of prints all over myself and probably my date as well.  I do, however, love the balloon print.  I would like this idea even better if everyone had also signed their name along with their print because most of us don’t have a FBI database we can run those prints through so as to remember who they belong to.

20130818-223848.jpg

Just as good or maybe better than having a guest book that doubles as an art piece is something you bring out on special occasions, like a game.  I love the idea of having guests sign Jenga game blocks.  You’ll likely bring the game out when friends and family come to visit and it’s a perfect opportunity and prompt to reflect on the happy day together.

20130818-224553.jpg

This puzzle guest book is also really cute!  Not only could it give guests something to collectively work on at the wedding but it’s something you can hand down to your kiddos when they’re developing their problem solving skills.

Via Something Turquoise

Via Something Turquoise

And another interesting spin on the guest book is guests notes.  This nature inspired wedding had an antique typewriter set up just for their loved ones to leave  messages of love and advice for the couple to read together in the future.

My guest book idea is a mix of the traditional (because there will be a book) and the new.  I will also be asking guests to write words of love and advice because reading over them later will be a wonderful opportunity for me to get emotional and sentimental.  The problem with my guest book idea is that it requires the use of a Polaroid camera.  If you have any tips on where to buy or rent one, let me know!  And no, I’m not posting my inspiration photo because, Hey, there have to be some surprises come the wedding day right!???

Give me some feedback!

