Road Trip Home

Shrimp Salad

I arrived in Sweetwater around 6:20, just in time to unpack my Carlita and make it to my hair salon appointment on time.  Later, I was able to scratch off one item from my food wish list, shrimp salad (and less healthy in the background, fried pickles).  It was so delicious!   My mom and I rented a movie that evening but didn’t end up watching it.  We just waited until my daddy got home from work and chatted into the wee hours of the night.

Pancakes

The next morning, instead of waking up early for a round of golf as planned, my parents slept in and I went for a run.  I forgot how extremely dry and hot west Texas is!  My run was miserable.  Later that morning I undid my run by eating a stack of pancakes and marked off yet another food item from the wish list.  To be fair I only ate about 1/3 of that ginormous stack but I also had 1/3 of a hamburger.  I couldn’t decide if I wanted breakfast or lunch and my wonderful parents decided to indulge my inability to make decisions and split the burger with me.

Golf MommyThe heat was bearable out on the golf course due to the cool breeze wafting about the open lawns.  I’ve never golfed and I didn’t this time either, I just watched my dad play.  The first and last time he invited me to go with him I asked if I could bring a book.  After he said no, I decided to stay home instead.  It wasn’t boring like I thought it would be but you won’t catch me watching a golf tournament on television any time soon.

Texas Theater

Nice picture mom!

Immediately after golf we rushed over to the Texas Theater, the only local movie theater.  It has been in a constant state of renovation for as long as I can remember.  Let me just say this place brings back so many memories!  The theater definitely needs some love but we enjoyed watching Despicable Me 2 together despite the peeling paint, sunk in chairs and sticky floors.

New Tennis

On Sunday, my mother and I headed to the big city of Abilene for some shopping.  I needed a new pair of sneakers and we found these bright pair at Academy.  Can you be in love with a pair of running shoes?  They are soooo lightweight and pretty.  Thanks Mom and Dad!  While in Abilene that day we also marked another item off the food wish list, paletas!  YUMMY!  I have yet to find a place here in Tulsa with Mexican style paletas that are this good.  I love the ones at Mary’s in Abilene because they have a large flavor selection, most include with or without chile options and most paletas are the frozen juice kind not the creamy kind.  If you’ve never had paletas that last part may not make sense.  Some paletas are more like frozen juice with a healthy amount of pulp included while others are more like fruit flavored ice cream.  I prefer the juice kind because they taste more natural and have fewer calories, I think.

Paletas

Kittens

Blizzard

sky

A few other moments to remember.  My parents have a small herd of cats that have taken up residence outside their house.  There are four teeny kittens and it took all my strength not to capture them and bring them all home.  Too Cute!  There was also a trip to Dairy Queen, yummy in my tummy!  And check out that glorious sky I saw on the way back to Tulsa.  Now after that fun and relaxing trip home, I’m ready (kinda) to start the new school year.  Today is my first day back.  Wish me luck!

Give me some feedback!

