Foodie Friday: Enchilada Soup

Title Image

As you can tell I’m trying out another alliteratively themed post.  I will attempt to write a Foodie Friday post once a month.  These posts will simply include recipes I’ve tried, both self invented recipes and those found from other blogs, Pinterest and/or cookbooks.  This week I’m featuring a recipe for Enchilada Soup.  Let me start this post by saying you can probably find a better recipe elsewhere on the interwebs.  My recipe is super tasty it’s just not very detailed.  I cook like my mother and my grandmother before her, adding a little of this and a little of that until the aroma and flavor is just right.  This concoction was dreamed up after I made too much enchilada gravy and needed to find a use for it.  That enchilada gravy is one of the main ingredients yet I’m not quite sure of the measurements to make it.  So I will estimate here:

1/2 Cup of Flour

+

1/4 Cup of Chili Powder

Mix together with a fork or whisk in a bowl.  It should have an orangy tint to it.  If it doesn’t, you may need to add more chili powder.

Meanwhile warm about a tablespoon of olive oil in a pot.  Before you add the flour/chili powder mix fill a pitcher with water and have it nearby also make sure the oil is hot.  Dump the powder mix in and allow it to soak up the oil.  All the powder must become moist and doughy.  Add more oil if necessary just a little at a time.  The powder mixture must become warm, melding all the flavors together but DO NOT take your eyes off of it for a second because it WILL burn.  Once it begins to bubble a bit add water slowly and begin whisking all the clumps out.  Once all the clumps are out add seasoned salt to taste.  I would suggest starting out with half a tablespoon but I’m not sure how much I ended up using.  Once the gravy has a good consistency – it coats the spoon but isn’t pudding like – allow the mixture to sit and boil for a while.  This will give it time to possibly thicken up.  If it does, you may want to add more water.

Enchilada Soup

1 1/2 Skinless Boneless Chicken Breast

1/2 TBSP of Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1/2 Cup of Water (or less)

1 Cup Sour Cream

1 Cup of Cheese (fiesta mix)

1 (10 oz) Can Rotel

1 (10 oz) Can Sweet Corn

1/2 tsp cumin

1 tsp chili powder

Salt, Pepper and Cayenne to taste

Garnish:  Tortilla Chips, Onion, Olives, Diced Fresh Jalapeño, and/or Cilantro

Chicken

Add Water

Ingredients

Whisk

I diced my chicken into thick chunks then threw them into a pot of warm EVOO.  Toss the chicken around in the warm oil, once it’s coated add all the spices.  Allow the chicken to cook all the way through then remove from the pot and set aside.  Add just enough water to get all the flavors off the bottom of the pot.  Once the bottom of the pot is clean, add the enchilada mix.  Allow it to warm through before adding the drained cans of Rotel and sweet corn.  Once the mixture is bubbling add the sour cream and cheese.  Make sure everything is all gooey and melty.  After the pot has been either turned off or set to simmer add the chicken.  If you add the meat when the soup is too hot it could get tough.  I added chips, onions, a little more cheese, and olives to mine but I also listed a few more tasty options up above.

Final Product

I hope this recipe wasn’t too tough to follow.  I will definitely be trying to whip this up again come fall and winter!  I will also be working on improving those food photography skills.

Give me some feedback!

