Love Games

My least favorite part about blogging is coming up with titles.  Usually all I can think of are super cheesy things… what can I say, it’s who I am.  When giving this blog a title, Lady Gaga’s “Love Games” popped into my head.  But just the part that says “Let’s play a love game, play a love game.”  So now after that long explanation, let’s get to business.

I’m very determined that there should be games at our wedding.  I think that some people think this is a silly idea but this was one of the first ideas I was certain about.  While most weddings these days feature signature cocktails and crazy dance parties that just isn’t quite our style.  Richard and I rarely drink alcohol and rather than dancing the night away at a club, we’d choose a night in with friends enjoying good food and fun games.  I think that’s kind of the main theme of our wedding day, an overgrown dinner party filled with yummy food and lots of fun.    There will be music and an area for dancing, because even though Richard’s not crazy about busting a move I sure do enjoy it.  Here are a few of the games I hope to have at our wedding.  Most of these games link to their DIY instructions, you know just in case anyone really loves and really wants to help me scratch something off my to-do list.

Giant Jenga

Via A Beautiful Mess.

1.  Giant Jenga – This DIY was something I assumed would be pretty simple and straightforward and I was right according to the A Beautiful Mess instructions.  I came up with a monogram for Richard and I awhile back and it might be cute to put that on the blocks.

Bean Bag Toss

Via Katelyn Miller Designs.

2. Bean Bag Toss – I think this game is tons of fun and it could make for a very pretty game set.  I also hear it’s fairly simple and affordable to make.

mikado-game

Via La maison de Loulou.

3.  Pick-up Sticks – This is a game where no one even has to leave the table.  They are colorful, cute and can be taken home by guests at the end of the night.

outdoor tic tac toe

Via Chicken Scratch NY

4.  Tick-Tack-Toe –  This seems easy to make using materials we either already have or can find on the farm or at the Dollar Store.  I like that the wood round could be used as part of the centerpiece to prop up the florals and the rocks could be placed around the table as part of the decor.  Just scoot the flowers aside and you’ve got a game table.

I Spy

Via Martha Stewart Weddins

5.  I Spy:  I love the idea of handing out an I Spy List and a disposable camera to each of our younger guests and letting them capture specific moments and little details.  Not only does it keep them happy and busy but it’s a great way to capture a different view of the night.

 

Give me some feedback!

