Wedding Rant

Wedding Planning

Wedding Planning (Photo credit: MyEyeSees)

I hate being negative but today has not been a good day on the wedding planning front.  Today marks the second time I have been informed by a photographer that I LOVED that they are booked on our date.  I loved these photographers because they had great photos and were within my price range.  In fact, most of the wedding planning has not been easy or fun.  All of my officiants have quoted me double my budgeted price and I really wanted a wedding video but I don’t think that will happen.  The videographer I really like charges $2,500 for a 10-15 minute video… what the what???

Don’t get me wrong, I am so ecstatically happy to be marrying my best friend.  He knows it and I’m so glad we’re on the same page with these feelings of frustration.  This never ending to do list also known as wedding planning is stressing me out.  Also, I hate spending money that I don’t have or that could be better spent paying back my student loans, furnishing our home, or even earning a tiny amount of interest in savings.  It literally makes my stomach knot up every time I think of prices.  Why do weddings cost so much?    I want to share this day with my family and friends but due to the sky high price of everything wedding related I’m having to savagely cut back my invitation list.

So what is a penny-pinching bride to do?  DIY?  Did someone say DIY?  Well, I do plan on DIY-ing the bugeezus out of my wedding but I also think this will make the day of my wedding and the night before a little (or a lot) more stressful for me and my crew.  Is there any other option?  It just seems like absolutely too much work and stress and planning and organizing and thinking about it all just makes me shut down.

To all my family and friends who might be reading this, I hope this blog post will keep you from thinking I’m horrible the next time you hear me hurl some insult at this wedding or the planning process.

Give me some feedback!

