Shall We Dance

For a long time I thought I was 100% certain of what our first dance song, but that has changed.  I recently decided that “our” song is  much too slow.  I’m still using it but in a different way.  Now our first dance spot is wide open with a bajillion options.  Here are my top 6 (I just couldn’t whittle it down to 5) with a pro and con for each option.  Vote below for your favorite option!

1.  Jack Johnson – Better Together

Pro:  I made a mix-tape CD for Richard that very first summer we were apart after freshman year.  This song was the second track on the album.  Also we unexpectedly saw Jack Johnson in concert at Bonnaroo this past summer after he stepped in last-minute when Mumford and Sons cancelled.  It was such a wonderful surprise!

Con:  This is a pretty popular song so is it too cliché to play it as our first dance?

2.  The Temptations – My Girl

Pro:  I have loved this song my entire life!  My art teacher from elementary through high school, basically my idol, used to sing songs and walk around the classroom… this was one of his favorites and he’d always make me join in.  I was such a self-conscious little thing, I wish I could go back in time and belt it out.  Also my aunt’s thought I looked like the main character of My Girl and always made references to that.  In fact, thinking back, I’m pretty sure I thought this song was about me for a little while.

Con:  This song really focuses on the girl, me, and not the couple.  Also I REALLY wanted this to be the daddy daughter song but he said it sounded too much like a couple song and didn’t like it.  So is it weird to dance it with Richard when I thought it was more of a daddy daughter song?

3.  The Beach Boys – Wouldn’t it Be Nice

Pro:  We had the pleasure of seeing The Beach Boys in concert at Bonnaroo 2012.  It just about made my life!  I like to think I have an old soul… or at least the part of my soul that dictates taste in music is old because I have always loved The Beach Boys and so many other artists from the 50s through 70s. I love the lyrics to this song:

“Maybe if we think and wish and hope and pray it might come true
Baby then there wouldn’t be a single thing we couldn’t do
We could be married
And then wed be happy”

I wish I was a more musical person because my preferred method of sharing my feelings is by finding corresponding song lyrics.  It is just such a moving and powerful way to communicate your thoughts and feelings

 Con:  Did the movie “50 First Dates” hijack this song and that’s all anyone thinks of now that they hear it?  My sister nayed this song because her mind went straight to that movie when she heard it.

4. Coldplay – Till Kingdom Come

Pro:  I own every Coldplay album and they are probably my favorite band.  Their isn’t a single song on any of their albums that I dislike.  Despite listening to each album about a million times, it wasn’t until recently that I decided this song was perfection… I mean just read these lyrics:

“Hold my head inside your hands
I need someone who understands
I need someone, someone who hears
For you I’ve waited all these years

For you, I’d wait ’till kingdom come
Until my day, my day is done…”

Con:  How would we dance to this?

5. Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes – Home

Pro:  One of the lyrics repeated in this song is:

“Home
Let me come Home
Home is wherever I’m with you”

For a long time even before hearing this song, I felt this way about what defines my home.  I’m not a very big fan of living in Oklahoma.  I miss my home state and my family too much but I realize that I really felt at home here for some reason.  Then it hit me that I felt at home here because this is where I’ve made my life with Richard.  So upon hearing this song it immediately became one of my favorites that I played on a loop for weeks maybe months.

Con:  How would we dance to this?  We saw them at Bonnaroo and of course we totally jammed out but will we feel to conspicuous to do our best music festival dancing in front of all our friends and family?  Our  music festival dancing involves a lot of jumping and twirling and swaying sort of rhythmically.

6. The Troggs – With a Girl Like You

Pro: This song is so much fun!  It was the first record I ever bought because I loved it so and the iTunes version sounded horrible.  After buying the record Richard’s mommy let us use one of her record players and Richard would try to start the song right on time to when I was walking through the front door from work.  Sometimes he is just so sweet and precious.

Con:  I would probably have to use the iTunes version of this song at the wedding because I think the speakers there may have a hard time connecting to the record player.  If we did use the record player we’d have to get someone to drop the needle, which is a little tricky.

Give me some feedback!

