Squash + Sausage = Yum

title board

Richard and I are probably 20% mature adult and 80% silly children.  I thought I’d make that statement before I tell you what we really refer to this recipes as, Squasages.  You get it, right?  Squash + Sausage = Sqausages.  I think the name is so wonderfully childish.  I LOVE the simplicity of this recipe.  You just add a little of this and that which is perfect for me because I’m not big on following recipes anyway.   I think I’m incapable of reading a recipe all the way through before I start, a habit that I desperately need to change.  This recipe is also great because it can all be made in one big dish (not counting the sides).  I paid better attention to what I added and now I’m going to share it with you.

Ingredients

Ingredients:

2 Packages Kielbasa Style Turkey Sausage

2 Cans of Rotel

2 Squash (you can do green, yellow or both)

Salt, Pepper and Cumin to taste

Chop the Sausage

Directions:

I chopped up my sausage into rounds and squash into quarters.  Then I dumped it all into my casserole baking dish.  Drizzle the squasage mixture with a little EVOO and salt, pepper and cumin.  Then pour in your cans of Rotel and mix it all up.  Cover with aluminum before placing it in the oven to cook at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.  This was the first time I added Rotel since we were just given a giant Sam’s Club package of it.  I really liked the addition because it gave it some spice, more broth, and a great flavor.  This recipe is so simple it is a great last minute dinner.  I served mine with some long grain white rice, pinto beans I had made earlier in the week topped with pico de gallo and shredded cheese and a little avocado on the side.  ¡Buen Provecho!

Squasages Squasages Full Plate

Give me some feedback!

