Julieta Veñegas

Hola!  It’s another Music Monday.  If you didn’t know me then you probably don’t know that I have diverse taste in music.  I like a little of EVERYTHING… E-V-E-R-Y-THING!  I use Spotify regularly to find new artists or just to catch up on some of my favorites.  Spotify is also great for something I call “previewing.”  Previewing is something you do when you know one or two songs by an artist but have never really listened to more.  I’m also muy pobrecita so I can’t afford to buy an album without knowing for sure that it’s worth it.  There’s nothing I hate more than buying an album and realizing the only good song is the one that is played on repeat over the airwaves where I can hear it for free until I can’t stand it.  Lately I’ve been previewing a lot of Spanish artists that I’ve been introduced or reintroduced to through an NPR program called Alt Latino.  I’d heard of Julieta Veñegas before but I rediscovered her recently through Spotify’s similar artists feature and I’m so glad that I did.  She’s a Mexican artist who blew up around 2003 when she adopted a pop-ish sound.  Not only is she a great singer but she writes most of her songs and can play several instruments including the accordian which I think is the coolest quirky instrument.   I like to describe her sound as Spanish Ingrid Michaelson.  I’m linking to one of my favorite songs  but she just came out with an AMAZING new album, Los Momentos, which may contain a new favorite song!

Give me some feedback!

