Update on the Newly Weds

Photo taken by Rachel Photographs.

Photo taken by Rachel Photographs.

This summer I had all these plans to keep the blog up to date… but that didn’t end up happening.  I decided just to soak in these first few months of married life.  Even though we didn’t go on any many big adventures we did have fun and we took tons of photos.  I’m hoping I can continue to write a post or two a week highlighting a few things we did and are currently doing.

Richard is back in school.  He’s now an ms-2! Big man on campus.  After second year he will be doing rounds, so pretty much I’ll never see him again.  He is prepping (more like stressing) for boards which he’ll take this summer.  People continue to ask him what he plans to specialize in and he still hasn’t made a decision.  He often asks me what I think and I always say whichever kind gets to spend lots of time with his wife.

I’m also back in school.  It was a last-minute decision and I enrolled within a week of classes starting.  I’m now a student at Tulsa Community College getting my associates in Digital Media with a specialization in Adobe Programs.  Really I’m just learning the basics on all of the programs like Photoshop, Flash etc. while also learning some about coding and graphic design.  When asked why I chose to go back the answer is always, “To make myself a more competitive job candidate in the ever expanding world of digital media.”  Sounds good, right?  The truth is I spent a lot of time thinking about what I want to do in the future and the short answer is I’m not sure.  I love being creative.  I love writing.  I love photography and videography.  I get lost in my crafting.  I day dream about owning a shop.  I just wish I could type all my interests into some sort of generator and it would give me the answer.

I often miss that feeling I had while still in undergrad and working in student media.  You felt like everyone you worked with was your friend and that was great because you spent all of your time together.  The whole production was a team effort and when you criticized each other it was only because you really cared about what you were putting out there for people to see.  I think I’ve also learned that I don’t love news.  It is depressing and eating and breathing it every day gets me down really quickly.  I’m really hoping to redirect my path towards marketing, video production or maybe a magazine of some sort… I’d love to write gushy love stories for a wedding magazine or maybe something in home decor!  Or better yet put me on one of those shows where I can travel the world and tell you all the best places to eat and the best things to do.  Yes, I think I can picture myself doing that!

I keep telling myself not to stress about my career.  After all many people don’t begin their careers at a young age.  Julia Child didn’t become a television star until she was in her 50s.

 

Give me some feedback!

